Home > General > D-ale mele #75

D-ale mele #75

The trouble with writing, if I may bring it up here in the English Department…instead of allowing you all to talk about sexual politics all fucking day long…is that we all do a little of it from time to time, writing, and some of us start to think, delusionally, that well, maybe with a little time, a little peace, a little money in the bank, maybe if we left the old lady and the kids, maybe if we had that room of our own, we might be writers, too. Why do we think that? We accept genius in sports, in painting, as something we cannot do, but it’s no more likely that you can be a writer than you can be an Olympic fucking pole vaulter. Because what you have to be before you try to be a pole vaulter, is a pole vaulter.
[…]
For me to be a novelist I’d have to make a deal with myself that it was ok being a mediocrity in a profession that died commercially in the last century. People do that. I’m not one of them. If you take away nothing else from my class, from this experience, let it be this: If you’re not a genius, don’t bother. The world needs plenty of electricians and a lot of them are happy. I’ll be fucked if I’ll be a midlist novelist, getting good reviews from the people I give good reviews to…

The Gambler (2014) – screenplay

Mi-a plăcut enorm partea asta.

Categories: General
  1. Mihai Cioflec
    October 8, 2015 at 9:20 am

    Bună ziua.
    După fiecare povestire aştept cu nerăbdare comentariile Dumneavoastră, pentru că am constatat că nu mă ignoraţi şi după cum se spune: ,,prefer să fiu injurat decât ignorat”.
    Aveţi perfectă dreptate în legătură cu povestirea ,,ODESSA”, căreia îi lipseşte acel
    ,, ceva” care mie nu îmi este la îndemână, dar trebuie să vă comunic că aceasta se
    bazează pe relatările sublocotenentului IONEL EVZICOV care a fost tatăl soţiei mele.

    Cu deosebită stimă
    Mihai Ciofec

  2. October 9, 2015 at 11:37 am

    Când am pus la îndoială însemnătatea textului, nu m-am referit la veridicitatea lui, ci la câștigul pe care trebuie să îl aducă cititorilor.

    De asemenea, repet, ultimul paragraf nu are logică – răspunsul la întrebarea respectivă (,,De ce atâtea vieţi curmate, când atentatul putea fi evitat? Era de ajuns să fi fost utilizat un detector de mine pentru a depista proiectilele îngropate sub pardoseala subsolului”) este furnizat câteva rânduri mai sus: “Clădirea a fost verificată centimetru cu centimetru pentru depistarea eventualelor mine şi rezultatul a fost negativ.”

    De aceea nu am înțeles cum explozia a avut totuși loc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

